Skip to main content

Assistance to Myanmar in pre-accession to Madrid Protocol

Currently, nine ASEAN countries have already become members of the Madrid Protocol. Malaysia joined the Madrid Protocol in December 2019 being is the newest member of the Madrid Protocol amongst ASEAN. Myanmar is the only ASEAN Member State that has not yet become member of the Madrid Protocol. 

Under this Activity, ARISE+ IPR provided legal and technical assistance to Myanmar in its pre-accession to the Madrid Protocol. The project provided support through an evaluation study on gap analysis, benefits of accession, how to meet requirements of Madrid Protocol through domestic laws, possible declarations to be made when acceding to the Madrid Protocol, timeline and roadmap, and further recommendations.

The overall coordination of this evaluation study is among several activities that ARISE+ IPR has implemented throughout the first and the second Annual Work Plan. Those activities include the pre-accession and post-accession training provided to other ASEAN Member States (AMSs) who have just acceded to the Madrid Protocol, namely Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Lao PDR, Indonesia, Malaysia and Thailand.

Share this post